Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Pinterest Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

BRI - TRENDFORECASTING DESIGNER & FOUNDER - CLAPTON

Sundown Woman Bri with Print

« I write every morning. Keeping a journal helps me [...] put some distance between me and my thoughts »

 

Bri is a beautiful trend-forecasting designer and the founder of Recover, a contemporary clothing brand that’s vintage-inspired and handmade in London.

She lives in a sunny, plant-filled and peaceful flat in Clapton with boyfriend Gianni.

 

3 steps morning routine

I take my temperature first thing in the morning. I’ve just started to use the Natural Cycles contraception, which I find really cool and super effective.

I usually look at my phone to check emails and notifications - although I keep thinking I should wait to be at the studio to do that!

I often listen to the French radio France Inter, only when Gianni’s away though - he’s a UX/UI designer and he sometimes works from home. 

Sundown Chat Bri Cycle Print and Plants

Plants and books

3 steps evening routine

Whenever I come back home I prepare something to eat, mostly roast veggies with Tahini on the side. Gianni has been a vegetarian for years, and when I met him, I decided to stop eating meat for a month. Now it’s been two years!

At night during winter we binge-watch a lot of series - we’ve avidly followed Stranger things and Mindhunter. But during summer we just spend our time outdoors - Springfield Park or Hackney Marshes are my favourites. Or we go to The crooked billet, our local pub.

I also spend a lot of time making the flat look nice - we’ve just moved in - putting up shelves, sorting out lampshades and arranging my wide collection of plants. I’m a plant lover!

Sundown Woman Bri Home Plants Sofa

Slow living

Top 3 creative moments at home

We sometimes do sculptures with Gianni, just the two of us at home. I love clay and he offered me a course for my birthday with Crown Works Pottery this summer, I’m really looking forward to it.

I read TG - “Typical Girls” - a British magazine that I find really inspiring. I also buy online the Fashion Revolution fanzine - super interesting and nourishing.

I listen to all sorts of music, from Italian 80s hits, old school French pop to American RnB. The Spotify radios are great to make you discover musical gems. I also use the Dice app for keep myself updated about gigs - the last one I went to was Ibeyi in Brixton and they were mind-blowing!

Sundown Woman Bri Sculpture Hobby Home

Bri and GIanni? :)

Top 3 relaxing moments and habits

Yoga really is the one thing that makes me relax and reset. I do it at Yoke near my studio in Dalston - almost every week day.

I write every morning. Keeping a journal helps me reduce my anxiety and put some distance between me and my thoughts. I write down 3 things for which I’m grateful, and I give my day an intention - whether it’s a colour, a hue, or a feeling. It keeps me balanced.

Also the best relaxing time is when Gianni and I have a good laugh together. Nothing beats it!

Sundown Chat Bri Shelves Bedroom

For the love of plants and books

Secret life hack

I reused a huge plastic plant pot as a laundry basket. It goes perfectly in the bathroom! I’m obsessed by plants, it makes me happy to watch things grow.

Most treasured possession

Apart from my plants? I would say Matthew Weir’s woodprint we bought during a trip to Andalusia last year.

Sundown Chat Bri Matthew Weir WoodPrint

Matthew Weir's woodprint

Worst pyjama set

During winter I wear an old pair of sweatpants with t-shirts so old they have holes in, in a quite horrible mix and match layering. I must say I’m a bit more self-conscious since I live with Gianni, trying subconsciously to make an effort about my terrible home clothes.

Dream home outfit

It would be something comfy, oversized but feminine, in which I would still feel supported. Something airy with long sleeves, which I could sleep in. 

Culture vulture - Bri's current recommandations

Last series:

I started to watch Friends again although I know all the episodes by heart.

Last book:

City of Lies: Love, Sex, Death and the Search for Truth in Tehran by Ramita Navai. It makes me want to know more about life in Iran.

Last podcast:

Behind the Iron Throne. I’m a huge Games of Thrones fan, I love the complexity of the characters and to me it’s a true metaphor of what’s happening on our planet at the moment.

Last movie:

First they killed my father by Angelina Jolie - a movie about the khmer genocide. We would like to go to Cambodia next winter, it makes me want to learn more about the country’s recent past.

Last recipe:

Roasted peppers and aubergines with garlic, rocket, mint and bulgur. My own personal inspiration!

Last playlist:

At the moment I listen a lot to French bands like Fishbach, Polo & Pan, Agar Agar, and La Femme.

Favourite Insta accounts:

Maryam Nassirzadeh, she’s my favourite creator. Also bfgf, an artist whom naive style I love. Her art makes me want to paint again!

Comments on this post (0)

Leave a comment